crunchimomma- Heather Spergel

Author, Mom, and Creative Nut!

Book review! “To Sleep…Perchance to Die” by Donald Grippo

“To Sleep…Perchance to Die” by Donald Grippo, D.D.S  

Image Image

I’m not sure how anyone can resist this cover!  I told the author this when I grabbed an autographed copy of his new release, “To Sleep…Perchance to Die” this month.  I hoped this book wouldn’t disappoint me.  I didn’t want it to be just a great cover or just a great title.  

Turns out, it’s a GREAT book!

Donald Grippo practiced oral and maxillofacial surgery in Connecticut for more than 30 years.  He worked in the Tennessee State Prison as a dentist, and as a guard in the Hartford State Jail.  Donald also wrote, “A Guide to the Guy or Gal Who Takes Your Teeth Out”, a series of short stories about the treatment of oral surgical problems.  His undergraduate degree in Psychology, plus his doctorate, in addition to his experiences throughout life clearly created the fertile ground for a story like this to grow!  

Do you enjoy overviews of stories?  I’m mixed on the topic of book summaries.  As an avid reader, I often prefer to get the gist of a story in a few sentences and not read the entire summary on the back of a book before opening it.  I want to be surprised, shocked, riveted, and caught off guard.  I almost challenge a book to do that. 

This book shocked me, had me fully engaged, and wondering what awaited me around the next bend.

I didn’t read the full summary on this one, instead relying on the title, the cover, my instinct, and yes folks, those few lines on the back.  I was THRILLED those lines on the back didn’t give away the story- instead they taunted me to read it and understand.  AND, when I read the book and understood those lines, I felt like I hit the meat of the book.  YES!  I’m IN IT!  

I settled down to read “To Sleep…Perchance to Die” by the light of my small lamp.  Soon I realized that hours had passed as I flipped each page and moved onto the next.  Drawn in by the characters and the captivating story, I continued to read into the night.  The book bonked me on my head somewhere around 1 am- somehow I fell asleep late at night.  (not by boredom- I have 2 kids- enough said, right?)  Reluctantly, I put the book down, but crawled out of bed early to read in the bathtub before the kiddos woke!

Have you ever wondered what is whirling around in the head of authors that create stories that knock you off your socks, shoes, and make your gum fall out of your mouth in shock?  I wondered this several times while reading this book.  (…and I mean this in a good way).

If you enjoy overviews, here you go!  “Tangled lives, tainted love, and a Shakespearean twist lead to deception, betrayal, and murder. In this sexy, psychological thriller, Eurasian beauty Mai Faca plots to marry Jake Warden, a successful oral surgeon forbidden to her because of family honor. In an unheard-of scheme, fellow surgeon, Bret Manley, falls victim to Mai’s seduction as she and Jake play a cruel trick to be together. Jake acts with surgical precision to clear the path to Mai’s happiness, threatening lives including his own. In a wake of turmoil and destruction, Bret’s uncle and well-known criminal attorney Hubie Santos attempts to find out if a surgeon would use his knowledge to kill.”

Each of the characters involved in this tangled web of deception and lies, whether the victim or the villain, seemed so real, I could picture this book as a movie.  There is one non-fictional character in the story, cast as the main character’s uncle, Hubert (Hubie) Santos, is a real-life criminal attorney practicing in Hartford Connecticut.  What a character!  We should all be so lucky to have an attorney like that if our lives turned in that direction.  The scheme created in this book had my jaw dropping to the floor in a “I can’t believe that just happened” fashion.  Wowza!  

Don’t you hate when you read a great book, but get to the end, only to be left disappointed and let down?  It ruins the entire book, doesn’t it?  Sours you.  Not this one.  (Did you think I was going to say the ending was terrible? NOPE!)  Definitely a great read with an ending I loved.  

Now that I finished the book, I can go to bed without worrying about a book smacking me in the face when exhaustion hits!

Order your copy through your favorite local store!  Or, order online…. 

Image

Image

Happy Reading!

Heather

 

 

Leave a Reply

