crunchimomma- Heather Spergel

Author, Mom, and Creative Nut!

Butternut Squash Soup- GF

Image

My girlfriend Christina gave me a terrific Butternut Squash Soup recipe a couple of years back.  I’ve been playing with it ever since- using what I have, deleting what I didn’t want, and creating my own soup.  The results are never the same, but are always delicious!

What you need:

1.  Butternut squash find it cut up already, or for $ saving, buy a whole butternut squash, removed the outer skin with a peeler, and cut up.  1 inch pieces are fine.

2.  2 sweet potatoes- they are never the same size, so your sweetness will vary.  peel and cut into 1 inch pieces.

3.  Broth- Approximately 1 cup.  I didn’t have any the other day, so I used filtered water and it tasted great still!  Use Vegetable stock or chicken (watch for gluten if you are following a GF diet).

4.  Leek or Onion.  I use 1 onion or 1 leek- whatever I have.  Chopped.

5.  Garlic- 2 cloves- my friend’s recipe called for a lot more, but my husband is a Chiropractor and will freak if I make him stink! Chopped.

6.  Ginger- I chop a small pieces very fine- fresh is best, in a pinch I use ground 1/4 tsp. (Don’t tell Christina!)

7.  Chili powder, nutmeg, cumin, salt (I use Celtic or Himalayan pink sea salt) .  I never measure.  Sorry!  Maybe 1/4 tsp. chili powder, 1/4 tsp. nutmeg, 1 tsp. cumin.  Salt- I’ll be honest, I just don’t measure this!  I grind some salt in, taste it later and always add more!

8.  Olive oil 1-2 Tbsp.

Directions:

1.  Saute’ the onion in 1-2 Tbsp olive oil in a soup pot on medium heat until softened.  Sauté’ the chopped ginger and garlic.

2.  Add the butternut squash and sweet potato and stir to combine.

3.  Add broth but do not cover the entire contents.  Pour just enough to be just below the service of the vegetable chunks (or else your soup may be more watery).

4.  Bring to a boil and stir.  Lower heat to medium low.

5.  Cook covered for about 20-30 minutes until the squash and sweet potatoes are very fork tender.

 

Blending the soup with hand blender

Blending the soup with hand blender

 

6.  Using a hand blender (Cuisinart, Blender) blend until this is smooth.  I find it easiest to blend in the pot with a hand mixer- less mess too!

 

 

 

 

 

7.  Add the Cumin, nutmeg, (if you didn’t use chopped ginger, add ground ginger here), chili powder.  Stir in the seasonings, test for salt, and if you are like me, add more.

This recipe freezes so well!  I make it ahead and freeze it in ball jars for parties!  I forgot I made soup and a mom came over with her daughter for a playdate.  I had some stored in a ball jar in the fridge from the day before- Tada!  Lunch for us!  Once you’ve made this a few times, you will see how you can change things so easily!  Less spice, more cumin, sweeter with more sweet potato…

Eating gluten free for this type of recipe is easy- especially if you  make your own stock.  If you purchase stock, watch the label.

Happy Cooking!

Heather

http://www.facebook.com/HeatherSpergelAuthor

Just 2013 release.

Just 2013 release.

4 Comments

    Trackbacks

    1. Butternut Squash Soup | Chop Boston
    2. Sweet and Savory Butternut Squash Soup | Can't Stay Out of the Kitchen
    3. Health Issues 101 | Savor the Food
    4. Coco for Coconut | Savor the Food

    Leave a Reply

