crunchimomma- Heather Spergel

Author, Mom, and Creative Nut!

Gluten-Free Thanksgiving Dessert Options 2012

Gluten and Corn Free- Can be made Dairy Free as well. *has nuts

As a gluten-free Mom of 2 gluten-free kids, Thanksgiving can be challenging.  Having it at my house this year made things a bit more controllable, but still labor intensive.  Once we do this year after year, I’m sure we will have it down!

I made the gluten-free chocolate chip cookies from Elana’s Pantry http://www.elanaspantry.com/gluten-free-recipes/.  I cooled them and refrigerated them.  Next I scooped Dairy-free Coconut milk ice cream into each, smooshed them, and rolled them in allergy-free chopped chocolate chips.  Re-freeze and presto!  Dessert.  Non-traditional and safe for us!

I made Pumpkin Poppers with Coconut Flour as well!  http://gapsdietjourney.com/easyrecipe-print/5115-0/

Pumpkin Poppers made with Coconut Flour

I admit, when these came out of the oven, I was a bit nervous.  They aren’t cupcake or muffins.  They are soft and seem almost like a raw product.  However, I took a bite, and realized, this is the inside of pumpkin pie without the sloppy mess!  SUCCESS!!!!

I made this homemade chocolate peanut bark so fast and it’s amazing!  

Chocolate peanut bark

1 cup of chocolate (use the allergy version your family can eat)

1 tsp coconut oil

1/4 cup Peanuts

(Optional- add homemade marshmallows or other nuts)

1.  Melt the chocolate and coconut oil over low heat (I didn’t use a double boiler).

2.  When it is almost melted, remove from the heat.  

3.  Stir in the peanuts.

4.  Scoop and smooth out onto parchment paper.

5.  Refrigerate until firm and break into pieces.  

Easy right?  

Happy Cooking!!  These recipes will not be in my book coming out in spring 2013, “Free To Be… Gluten-Free!” but a few others will be.

 I am NOT a chef, but my kids think I am.  Isn’t that good enough?  It is for me! 

Love,

Heather

Leave a Reply

